Penalties and consequences for violating the law can be severe, depending on the seriousness of the criminal violation. In some cases, first-time offenders are given more lenient treatment – more as an opportunity to learn from their mistakes and never to repeat the same conduct.
Unfortunately, some offenses are prone to repeat violations, and leading among these is driving under the influence or DUI. As in many other states, California recognizes this phenomenon and has laws designed to impose increasingly severe penalties for repeat DUI offenders.
Whether you have been arrested and charged with DUI for the first time or have multiple prior convictions for DUI, a criminal defense attorney can help you in obtaining the best possible outcome from the DUI charge.
Multiple DUIs In California
Determined to have drivers think twice before getting behind a wheel to drive, California DUI laws are some of the strictest in the United States. The state particularly heightens the punishment of repeat offenders, and if you have multiple convictions, then the penalties you face are severe.
For purposes of determining what is a multiple conviction for DUI repeat offender purposes, California law considers other drinking-related offenses as DUIs. For example, you can be treated as having multiple DUIs if any of the following apply to you:
- Alcohol-related reckless driving
- DUIs from other states
- Any driving-related conviction in another state involving alcohol
If you are charged with a fourth DUI, then your chances of going to prison for a long time increase significantly. This is because, for a fourth DUI arrest, the prosecutor has the option to charge the offense as a felony. If the prosecutor charges the offense as a felony, then you face possible time in state prison. An aggressive defense is crucial.
What Are The Penalties for Multiple DUI Convictions?
Multiple DUIs will result in sentence enhancements of the penalties of a first-time offense. As a sentence enhancement, you’re exposed to the same types of penalties but with more severe terms.
- Up to 12 months in county jail
- 3-5 years of probation
- Suspension of your license for up to 2 years
- Every vehicle you own must have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed
- Mandatory DUI education classes of 18 to 30 months
- Court costs of up to $4,000
- Up to 12 months in county jail or up to 16 months in state prison
- 3-5 years of probation
- Suspension of your license for up to 3 years
- Must have IID installed in all your vehicles
- DUI classes of up to 30 months
- Court costs of up to $18,000
Four or More DUIs
Being convicted for four or more DUIs within 10 years carries the same penalties as a third DUI conviction, except:
- You will serve time in prison for at least 16 months
- Your license may be for 4 years or permanent
- You may be charged as a felon, which deprives you of additional liberties such as voting and bearing arms.
Speak with a Riverside, CA Criminal Defense Attorney Today
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, contact DeLimon Law today and schedule a consultation. We can seek the best possible outcome in your DUI case.