Citrus Towers – Downtown Riverside 3390 University Ave. Suite 640 Riverside, CA 92501

Schedule Your Consultation

Local
951-777-9104

Toll Free
844-777-4846

Misdemeanor Charges in Riverside, California

Felony charges are the most serious offenses and carry higher penalties than misdemeanor charges. You should understand how courts and prosecutors handle misdemeanor cases in the criminal procedure process. Some crimes in the State of California can be charged as either felonies or misdemeanors. Prosecutors will often base their decisions on the specific facts of the case and the defendant’s prior convictions. 

 

A misdemeanor is less serious than a felony crime, as misdemeanors do not carry any sentences that must be carried out in a California state prison. Misdemeanors are defined as crimes that carry a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, these are still serious matters, so you want the right Riverside, CA misdemeanor attorney handling your case.

Aggravated Misdemeanors

Aggravated misdemeanors may be punished by up to one year in county jail and a fine of $1,000 or more. Anyone who is convicted of a misdemeanor may be forced to serve probation for three to five years. Misdemeanor cases may be filed by the Riverside City Attorney or the District Attorney’s Office depending on where in Riverside the offense occurred.

 

Criminal Procedure

After being arrested in Riverside, the case will proceed through the regular stages associated with criminal procedure. These stages consist of arraignment, bail hearings, pretrial hearings, and jury or bench trial. The majority of misdemeanor cases never proceed to trial. A criminal defense attorney can negotiate with prosecutors and have the case dropped or reach a plea agreement.

 

Common Misdemeanor Crimes In California

  1. Health and Safety Code 11350. Drug Possession
  2. Vehicle Code 14601. Driving On Suspended License
  3. Vehicle Code 23103. Reckless Driving
  4. Vehicle Code 23152. Driving Under the Influence
  5. Penal Code 496. Receiving Stolen Property
  6. Penal Code 647(f). Public Intoxication
  7. Penal Code 647(b). Prostitution
  8. Penal Code 647. Disorderly Conduct
  9. Penal Code 602. Trespassing
  10. Penal Code 243(e)(1). Domestic Battery
  11. Penal Code 459.5. Shoplifting
  12. Penal Code 484(a). Petty Theft
  13. Penal Code 314. Indecent Exposure
  14. Penal Code 242. Battery
  15. Penal Code 240. Assault

 

Probation And Misdemeanor Convictions

Any person convicted of a misdemeanor offense is often placed on probation and forced to adhere to any conditions imposed by the court. These conditions of probation may include jail time, court fines, community service, counseling classes, alcohol or drug classes, electronic monitoring, and victim restitution.

 

Domestic violence charges often result in the court entering a restraining order or protective order against the defendant. Restraining orders and protective orders prohibit any contact between the defendant and the victim. Misdemeanor convictions will also result in a criminal record that can be seen by potential employers and others who search your criminal background.

 

Misdemeanor convictions can also result in disciplinary action for any person who holds a professional license such as a teacher, lawyer, or doctor.

 

Contact DeLimon Law Today To Schedule A Free Consultation

Contact DeLimon Law today to schedule a free consultation during which we can discuss the charges you are facing and the defenses that may be applicable to your case. Call DeLimon Law today at 951-777-9104 to speak to a misdemeanor attorney who can offer you excellent legal representation.

Related Posts
 

Get The Justice You Deserve

Request Your Free Consultation